Photo: Murley/OcchipintiMike and David began playing in and around Toronto as a duo in 1999 and were featured artists at the Atlantic Jazz festival in 2000 in Halifax, Nova Scotia. They have developed an intimate musical rapport that led to the recording of the "Duologue" in May 2002.

Canadian saxophonist Mike Murley has emerged as one of the country's finest jazz artists. His critically-acclaimed work as a leader and a sideman has placed him at the forefront of Canada's jazz scene for more than a decade. Since winning the Juno Award (Canada's Grammy equivalent) in 1991 for his "Two Sides" album, Murley has appeared on seven other Juno award-winning recordings.

Murley's latest CD, "Live at the Senator" won the 2002 Juno Award in the best mainstream jazz album category. Murley is also a member of the Juno award-winning (2001) Rob McConnell Tenet. Canada's premier electric jazz group, Metalwood, has featured the more robust side of Murley's saxophone since the quartet's inception in 1996. Murley has released six critically acclaimed recordings as a leader. His last quintet CD, "Conversation Piece", received the 1997 Jazz Report Award for best album. He is also a four-time recipient of the Jazz Report Award for tenor saxophonist of the Year. Most recently he received the 2002 National Jazz Award for saxophonist of the year.

Photo: David OcchipintiGuitarist/composer David Occhipinti has three CD's featuring his own compositions: David Occhipinti (1997), Syzygy (1999) and one to be released in 2003. The debut CD was described by the press as: "exciting, original, intelligent, excellent debut."

David studied in New York with the legendary guitarist Jim Hall off and on from 1992-96. He regularly performs his music across Canada and in Italy where he lived for a short time. David was featured as one of ten "Guitars on Fire" in the
international Jazziz Magazine April '96 issue and CD.

Aside from leading his own group and playing duo with Mike Murley David also performs regularly as a sideman with Lina Allemano Four, Richard Whiteman, Barry Elmes and others.